The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of activities for anyone aged between 14 years old and 24 years old.

DofE is a programme that is designed and operated by the DofE Award programme outside of Explorer Scouts and the Scout Association, however, it is commonly undertaken by Explorer Scouts. DofE Awards are closely linked with the Chief Scout’s Platinum Award and the Chief Scout’s Diamond Award requirements.

The DofE Award can be completed at three levels:

  • Bronze for 14 year olds
  • Silver for 15 year olds
  • Gold for those aged 16 years and over

Award Programme

The DofE Award Programme consists of four or five sections; the fifth is only required for the Gold level award. The award sections consist of the following:

  • Volunteering to undertake a service to individuals or the community
  • Physical by improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activity
  • Skills by developing practical and social skills as well as personal interests
  • Expeditions by planning, training, and completing an adventurous journey in the UK or aboard
  • Residential (Gold Award only) by staying and working away from home during a shared activity

Where Can I Find Out More

To find out more about the DofE Award programme, please visit the DofE Scouting Resources page on the Scout Association website.